The City Girl Farmer


About

IMG_0410My name is Rachel.  I was born in 1960 (you figure it out!), I am married and have two teen-aged children.  We are a traditional Catholic family but have not always been.  You can click here if you would like to read about my conversion.  I lived in the city my whole life until August 2008.  I studied Linguistics at the University of California – Berkeley in my younger days.  I worked as a claims adjuster for several years when my children were young.  I met my wonderful husband, Jon, in 1998 and we have been married since 2000.  We started to home school our children, Juliana and Thomas, after I was laid off of work in 2001.

I love to spin and have always dreamed of living in the country.  Inspired by a visit to a friend’s house in May 2008, we began looking for a place to raise fiber-producing animals.  The result?  The City Girl Farm.  Three months later we moved to a house in the middle of nowhere—well, not really.  I have DSL.  It can’t be in the middle of nowhere.  Our farm is about 40 miles east of Colorado Springs, CO.   I finally made some time to start this blog about my adventures on a farm.

Advertisements

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hi Rachel,
Wow, good for you doing what you’ve always dreamed of doing.
Yes, we do have a lot in common. I cant wait for my eggs to hatch (6 days approx) i was nervous about doing it and we have taken out 3 of them as 2 were unfertilized and another died in shell. Its a huge learing curve but i so glad i’m doing it.
I am recording my incubation adventures on my blog including pics and a video.
regards
Gill

Comment by beingmaisie




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s



%d bloggers like this: